Phil Steele Lauds 15 Minutemen With Year-End Football Honors

Breneman named an all-American, nine take home first team spots


Fifteen University of Massachusetts football student-athletes received praise from industry leader Phil Steele with his annual All-Independent Team awards, as members of the Maroon and White split 17 total accolades. The awards breakdown included six given to offensive players, six more to the defensive side of the ball and three at specialist positions.

The 2017 Phil Steele All-Independent First Team selections included quarterback Andrew Ford, wide receiver Andy Isabella, tight end Adam Breneman, offensive lineman Jack Driscoll, defensive lineman Da'Sean Downey, linebacker Bryton Barr, defensive back Isaiah Rodgers, kicker Logan Laurent and long-snapper Nick Berus.

Marquis Young was lauded on the second team at running back and kick return. Alongside Young, wide receiver Sadiq Palmer, defensive linemen Sha-Ki Holines and Ali Ali-Musa, linebacker Steve Casali and safety Jesse Monteiro earned recognition for their work on the field during the season.

In addition to his spot on the Phil Steele All-Independent First Team, Breneman collected another all-America award as he picked up Phil Stele All-America Fourth Team at tight end.

Follow Massachusetts football on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook (@UMassFootball).

Phil Steele All-Independent Teams

First Team

QB – Andrew Ford, Massachusetts
QB/RB – Ahmad Bradshaw, Army
RB – Josh Adams, Notre Dame
RB – Darnell Woolfork, Army
WR – Andy Isabella, Massachusetts
WR – Equanimeous St. Brown, Notre Dame
TE – Adam Breneman, Massachusetts
OL – Bryce Holland, Army
OL – Quenton Nelson, Notre Dame
OL – Mike McGlinchey, Notre Dame
OL – Josh Boylin, Army
OL – Jack Driscoll, Massachusetts

DL – Corbin Kaufusi, BYU
DL – John Tillery, Notre Dame
DL – John Voit, Army
DL – Da'Sean Downey, Massachusetts
LB – Bryton Barr, Massachusetts
LB – Alex Aukerman, Army
LB – James Nachtigal, Army
LB – Te'Von Coney, Notre Dame
DB – Julian Love, Notre Dame
DB – Isaiah Rodgers, Massachusetts
DB – Nick Coleman, Notre Dame
DB – Dayan Ghanwoloku, BYU

K – Logan Laurent, Massachusetts
P – Jonny Linehan, BYU
KR – CJ Sanders, Notre Dame
PR – Michael Shelton, BYU
LS – Nick Berus, Massachusetts

Second Team

QB – Brandon Wimbush, Notre Dame
QB/RB – Marquis Young, Massachusetts (RB)
RB – Kell Walker, Army
RB – Squally Canada, BYU
WR – Kevin Stepherson, Notre Dame
WR – Sadiq Palmer, Massachusetts
TE – Matt Bushman, BYU
OL – Sam Mustipher, Notre Dame
OL – Alex Bars, Notre Dame
OL – Brett Toth, Army
OL – Tejan Koroma, BYU
OL – Mike Houghton, Army

DL – Sha-Ki Holines, Massachusetts
DL – Sione Takitaki, BYU
DL – Ali Ali-Musa, Massachusetts
DL – Kenneth Brinson, Army
LB – Fred Warner, BYU
LB – Drue Tranquill, Notre Dame
LB – Nyles Morgan, Notre Dame
LB – Steve Casali, Massachusetts
DB – Jesse Monteiro, Massachusetts
DB – James Gibson, Army
DB – Micah Hannemann, BYU

K – Justin Yoon, Notre Dame
P – Nick Schrage, Army
KR – Marquis Young, Massachusetts
PR – Chris Finke, Notre Dame
LS – John Shannon, Notre Dame