Phil Steele Tabs 13 With Postseason Nods


University of Massachusetts football saw 13 of its student-athletes earn Phil Steele All-Independent Team honors, nine of who return to the Minuteman squad in 2017.

First-team offense honorees included wide receiver Andy Isabella, tight end Adam Breneman and offensive linemen Michael Boland and Fabian Hoeller. Linebacker Steve Casali was named first-team defense.

Second-team offense selections included running back Marquis Young and wide receiver Jalen Williams. Defensive linemen Peter Angeh and Sha-Ki Holines, linebacker Da'Sean Downey and safeties Jesse Monteiro and Lee Moses were named second-team defense. Isaiah Rodgers earned second-team honors at kick return.

Nine of UMass' 12 2016 opponents played in bowl games, compiling an 8-1 record. Of those nine, three also played in conference championship games. Nine of UMass' 12 2017 opponents played in bowl games with one American Athletic Conference Championship Game team (Temple) and the Sun Belt Conference Champion (Appalachian State).

Additionally, last month, Breneman was named a Campus Insiders Second-Team All-American and an ECAC First-Team All-Star.

For continued coverage of UMass football, follow the program on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook (@UMassFootball).